Month: April 2014

  • Just like old times

    I'm up late like in grad school, working on a paper from grad school, on my dinosaur of a laptop from grad school...this is all too familiar. As our lives fade away before us (haha), I am reminded of my previous life.

    Back then, my time was my own. Life was about managing everything around me. All life's complications seemed so burdensome and they were all centered around me.

    Now, there's two of us. It was a change, but we adapted. Before making decisions, we seek the other's approval. We think before we act. There are no secrets.

    Looking ahead, your time is not your own. You're tired? Too bad. You can't control the additions...but maybe you can train them.

    =====================================

    Tired me is bleeding emotive thoughts. But one prominent thought is my current theme. Though every marriage, child, parent, financial situation, personality is different, being able to overcome any challenge will help you tackle the next one. A person's book smarts won't make them more successful, but their drive to overcome will. No, I've never been a mom, but throughout my life I've been determined to go full speed over any bumps in the road. All of this, I believe, will better prepare me for when that huge drop comes. Boy, I do love roller coasters!

    =====================================

    Here's to random late night posts, from high school to college to grad school to married life... and beyond.