July 24, 2013

  • Just Another Day

    Married life is absolutely wonderful. I love seeing my honey bear everynight and now that we are working together (short term for the moment) we get to spend every waking moment together. I actually like it! :) I don't feel joined at the hip in the annoying way, but I do feel like I want to do everything together (except for Halo). This is me who used to be so bent on being Miss Independent and doing everything myself, trying to prove to the world that I'm only small in stature but not grandeur. Well, I've been transformed into a wife! I do wifely things and make dinner and clean up when my hunny is too tired and just wants to watch TV. I bring him a beer to the couch so he doesn't have to get up. I buy him clothes! This is me who always said that you are your own person and you shouldn't have your significant other doing all these things you can do for yourself. Okay this is the worst one - I only make poor attempts at opening bottles or jars and then hand it over to Sean. I am SUCH a girl! (Even though I have massive arms) ... But I'm okay with it and even happier as a semi-girly girl now! Maybe it's because I think Sean (not so) secretly likes to pamper me and treat me like a baby (but not a spoiled brat, of course). He just likes to feel manly and know he can do things for me. And I let him because it makes him feel more needed. And the truth is I need him now. I still like my alone time but life is just so much better with him there. We do almost everything together - mountain biking, hiking, beer brewing, sneaking drinks into pool, church, Our Daily Bread, most TV shows, gastropubs, driving range, kan jam, backpacking and camping, hanging out with my family, taking my brother and his friends out, breakfast on our porch patio, watering our plants, bears and bunnies, cleaning toilets and showers, laundry, walks in the park, bulk metallic glass discussions, and our favorite, Costco!
    How come we are not sick of each other? How can two people possibly do everything together all the time? It's quite sickening. But we really would rather stay home on a Friday night watching movies on our couch than go out to loud and crowded bars. I think this is normal, but while many are still trying to prove they are young and fun and still got it and beyond hipster, well we just aren't too cool. Well my parents think we are but that's just because that's what they do. Actually, I changed my mind and I think we are so so cool because we are not boring, most of the time.

    Okay here's another story. When I first moved back I couldn't help but look at everyone in So Cal and see how stuck people are in their own ways. Not just in Irvine or OC and actually not just here, but everywhere, if people have only lived in one certain environment and exposed to one type of culture or only have one group of friends with all the same thoughts, activities, and interests, well they just have one view of the world. It annoyed me so much that I felt I changed so much and when I came back everything was the same! Ugh. But then I realized that I am really no better and living somewhere else for five years doesn't suddenly make me the most cultured or broad perspective holding person. I was being so judgmental and it really was tearing me apart. God placed me back here to love and serve him and the others around me. Not tell them how OC they are. I became a lot nicer internally after I learned from my good friend and coworker that it really is okay to be nice to Everyone. You don't need to prove how cool and unique and well lived you are. You don't need to boast about all the great and interesting foods you ate or the cool dive bars you went to or the awesome Europe travels you had. You don't need to be so hipster! Yeah we like the finer things in life and finding out about a band before KIIS FM exposes it to the whole world. Yeah we like awesome Belgians and IPAs. Yeah we like to tell of all the cool national parks we traveled to. But that doesn't make us better than someone who hasn't. It doesn't make them less interesting or valuable. I'm just glad I'm on my way to becoming a non-hater. It bugged the crap out of me that I would think this way, that people would self proclaim their coolness and I didn't think they were actually doing something that magnificent. (Still complaint about FB but I'm working on it.) anyway, I've reached a point where I am back to just trying to love people and sincerely care about them, and to be interested in the mundane because I'm sure someone would think I lead a rather mundane life too. The trick is to be joyful in whatever situation you are in. Continuously seek Him and all will be well. Life is not guaranteed to be easy, but it won't be lonely. I wish I could share my happiness with lonely people because it breaks my heart to see and hear about.

    Goodnight lonely people. Know that you are loved.

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment